Hill, Norman and Beard (1974)
The three manual Hill, Norman & Beard organ situated at the west end of the
nave dates from 1974, though it employs a few pipes and the frontal case from a
much earlier instrument by John Geib, built for this church in 1789.
The light "classical"
voicing of this instrument utilises 25 stops and contrasts well with the
sonorous qualities of the Harrison & Harrison; played together they fill
the church with sound.
Harrison & Harrison (1908)
The four manual 50
stop Harrison & Harrison organ is located in the north choir aisle with
the console set back behind the choir stalls. This instrument is virtually
unique among organs of its era in that it has not been rebuilt or altered since
The quality of this
beautiful, large Edwardian instrument is still apparent in the richness of
tone and the huge variety of tonal colour. We now need to raise around
restore the instrument and endow it for the future.